Day 1 of living below the breadline

1.2 billion people live in poverty around the world.

This week I will be eating and drinking on just £1 a day for 5 consecutive days. 1.2 billion people (that’s 20 times the population of the UK) live like this everyday going to bed hungry. I am looking to raise awareness, change the way people in the UK think about extreme poverty and raise money to fight against world wide suffering.

SHOPPING:

I completed my shop for the 5 days. I bought everything to cover for 5 days totaling to £4.97. I was able to have three meals a day including tea bags and milk – a good English cuppa is a necessity for my survival!

5 days of foodTotal cost

 

DAY 1:

Thin white bread with strawberry jam got me off to a good start following by a cup of tea. The tea bags I bought for 40p and were surprisingly good…I am very fussy with my tea usually but this is good enough for 5 days of tea drinking! I had a good fresh banana for a mid-morning snack which kept me happy right through until lunch.

For lunch I has spaghetti with pasta sauce. Again, I was surprised with how tasty it was and I couldn’t finish my whole helping so I have even saved some for tomorrow! It is now early afternoon and I am starting to feel full and sleepy. My limited budget didn’t allow me to include many greens and I can imagine this taking it’s toll after a few days.

Day 1 lunch

 

For dinner I have white rice, frozen veggies and some onion which I can’t imagine will keep me satisfied for a full 5 days. What this food will do though is keep me full. I was concerned about now getting enough to keep me going but I won’t be hungry. However, this is not sustainable over a long period of time. Without getting the nutrients needed I will be prone to getting sick and feel lethargic a lot of the time…I guess, only time with tell!

 

If you want to help change people’s lives then please sponsor me to complete these 5 days, you can find out how to do so here:

https://oxjam.everydayhero.com/uk/izzy

£3 buys a life saving emergency water bucket
£31 trains a midwife
£800 buys 350 mosquito nets
£1700 builds a whole classroom

Leave a Reply

